“Om”

 

I believe that God is all around us.   

Supreme energy,  universal flow and nature; it is all one.

The soulfulness that we are seeps from our pores, permeates the ether, mingles with others and emits radiant beauty.

There is an emptiness inside of me lately that can not be filled with just things or people. It is the part of me that connects to the earth and it cries out for life once again.

The past year has been a bit of a struggle for me.

One night out of complete confusion and the need to focus and center, I began to pray.  I prayed while reciting a mantra and within minutes I felt a calm settle over me and at that moment I knew that I had not lost faith.

Faith in the soul.  Faith in life.  Faith in myself and in my body.

I realized that our focus is what we are,  and if I focus on gentle words sent out to God/Manna/Allah/The Universe (whatever you believe) that this energy will be returned ten fold to us.

I have spent some time as of late, wondering why things happen as they do in this world and I have come to two conclusions.

The first:

Everything happens for a reason; we just need to be patient and follow the signs. 

Secondly:

Sometimes we will never truly know the answers, but we must have faith.

If we don’t we are doomed to suffer chaos.

Buddhism is peace to me. Yet strangely, so is traditional prayer.  Is it possible for the two to mingle?  Yes, it is.

Every day a miracle occurs.  The sun shines, the flowers bloom and we breathe a breath of newness as our eyes open.

Every new day has the potential to be soul fulfilling,  it’s all what you make of it.

A sigh of surprise when a butterfly flutters towards you…

Watching a leaf swirl gently from a tree to your feet…

Laying quietly in the dark while your mind wanders to far off places…

The sweet warmth of a dog curled up next to you…

These are all forms of prayer. You simply need to be aware.

I find strength in the knowledge that I exist and  that energy vibrates and envelops me.

Leave a Reply

