Life Paths…

 
 
Do you think that the choices we make in life are our destiny?

Do you believe that we actually walk this life with others?

Do you ever wonder what might have been if you’d taken a different path? Chosen a different love? Turned left instead of right?

Do you think that we learn from the choices that we have made?

Is that what life is?

A series of turns and twists (as if a puzzle) that teach us about ourselves, others and the world around us?  But what do we really learn?

Do we have control of the wheel or is it all left to fate? 

I have walked a spiritual path looking for enlightenment and all I find lately are questions. 

Will I be happy (strangely I hear Doris Day singing in my head)?

When I am, will I know it?

Will I make the right choices to find the fulfillment that I desire.

 
Is there such a thing as fulfillment or are we  simply deluding ourselves so that we may forge through another day?

Do you ever wonder who you are?

Do you ever look in the mirror and not recognize the face that stares back at you?

Sometimes, I feel as if I need to introduce myself to me.  Yet at times the essence of an old soul shines through and I feel comforted and known. 

But am I truly known?  Or am I simply alone, even though surrounded by others who claim to know me . 

Do you know?

2 thoughts on “Life Paths…

  1. Do you think that the choices we make in life are our destiny?

    Yes. Sometimes, “shit happens” but even then, we make choices at those times that alter our destiny.

    **********
    Do you believe that we actually walk this life with others?

    We walk ‘near’ others but not truly ‘with’ others. Unless one is tethered to me, if I walked over a cliff I would be alone. If another felt compelled to walk alongside over the cliff, I’d question their sanity 😉 Of course they’d be questioning mine for having walked off a cliff, so…

    **********
    Do you ever wonder what might have been if you’d taken a different path? Chosen a different love? Turned left instead of right?

    Many times.

    ***********
    Do you think that we learn from the choices that we have made?

    We learn if we are aware. Whether that awareness creates change or not is another matter.

    ***********
    Is that what life is?

    Ah, Grasshopper (no, I am no Master Po). If I could tell you the meaning of life, I’d be a bazillionaire many times over.

    ***********
    A series of turns and twists (as if a puzzle) that teach us about ourselves, others and the world around us? But what do we really learn?

    We learn everything we’re supposed to learn. What the use is of that is another eternal question.

    ************
    Do we have control of the wheel or is it all left to fate?

    We can ‘guide’ the wheel and choose a direction to turn, but in our last and final moment, we have zero control.

    *************
    I have walked a spiritual path looking for enlightenment and all I find lately are questions.

    There are more questions than there are answers. There *are* answers… just not all of them 🙂

    **************
    Will I be happy (strangely I hear Doris Day singing in my head)?

    Que sera, sera…

    ***************
    When I am, will I know it?

    Are you unhappy if you don’t know?

    ***************
    Will I make the right choices to find the fulfillment that I desire.

    Choices will lead to more choices, which lead you to more choices, ad infinitum. Fulfillment is optional.

    ***************
    Is there such a thing as fulfillment or are we simply deluding ourselves so that we may forge through another day?

    What’s the alternative?

    ***************
    Do you ever wonder who you are?

    I know who I am. I will never know anyone else as well. People are like onions. Sometimes the outer brittle shell can be peeled away. Seldom are entire layers revealed. The core, the real heart, is too often impenetrable (sadly — or happily, as the case may be).

    ***************
    Do you ever look in the mirror and not recognize the face that stares back at you?

    Funny you should mention that. Just the other day, I looked at myself. I remembered a summer day, perhaps at the age of 9. It may have been the first time I took a good look at myself. A coming-of-age good long look. But, recently, I took that look again and asked myself “where did that 9 year old go?” Where did the blonde hair go? The skin is still smooth, but it doesn’t have the purity of a 9 year old. Scars and wrinkles are the road map of life. At 9, I had no idea where life would lead. Now the map shows that many roads have been traveled. Some of them dead ends, and other roads well-beaten paths that have been trod over and over again. I don’t necessarily recognize the face, but the roads are very familiar.

    ****************
    Sometimes, I feel as if I need to introduce myself to me. Yet at times the essence of an old soul shines through and I feel comforted and known.

    That’s the soul you’ll still find familiar when you’re 100.

    ****************
    But am I truly known? Or am I simply alone, even though surrounded by others who claim to know me .

    You’re only as known to others as you choose to be. There’s that ‘choice’ thing that you asked about. A person can be surrounded by others yet be as alone as Tom Hanks on that island in Cast Away. Conversely, a person can feel entirely alone and discover they’re not alone at all.

    *****************
    Do you know?

  2. I have flirted with existentialism. Danced with dogma. Dined with destiny. Been fickle with fate. And still, all I can say is: What’s it all about, Alfie?

Leave a Reply

