Perceptions …

Have you ever wondered how people see you? 

How you’re looked upon by the world?

How we’re perceived?

This evening while spending time with a close friend (my ex as well), I was surprised by an observation that he made. 

We were watching the movie “Must Love Dogs”, when the character Jake spoke of a woman. 

He described her this way:

“oh Charlie you should see this girl.  She’s shy, she’s fragile, she’s self-conscious. She has no idea how beautiful she is. She’s a mess. It’s fantastic.”

At which point my friend patted me on the arm and said “this sounds like someone I know” and smiled.  I was a bit taken a back.  I then asked “is this how you see me, really?”.  The answer a resounding “yes”.  

This slight moment seems to have catapulted me into a place of ‘who am I?’ And how exactly do others see me?

But seeing isn’t always knowing, is it? 

And, there’s something about being known that is slightly unnerving.  Yet, it’s also somewhat intriguing. 

My best friend says that I’m perfume, light and sweetness. 

But is that all they (the ubiquitous they) see?

Should I care?

I suppose the moral to this rather lengthy story is this:

No matter how hard we attempt to hide our vulnerabilities, sooner or later someone is going to get a peek at the inside.

3 thoughts on “Perceptions …

  1. Someone will see if they care enough to see. But the tragic thing is that a many people aren’t close enough to someone to let them come near enough to see. Kind of the “catch-22.”

  2. You can run, but you can’t hide. External beauty is impermanent. Internal beauty is eternal. You possess both. Your humanness and all that encompasses [Frailties and strengths.] makes you very endearing and sweet and sensitive and quite lovely. A woman can’t really be beautiful without sometimes being unwittingly unbecoming in some way or another and showing, perhaps unwittingly, that she is vulnerable. It’s alluring. As are you.

Leave a Reply

