Seeing the light …

“The eye sees only what the mind is prepared to comprehend.”

Henri Bergson

 

Never was there a truer statement. 

It’s funny how things can literally be right in front of our faces and  yet we are  still unable to recognize what we are seeing or experiencing.

I suppose it’s natures way of shielding us from the objectionable until we’re ready for the truth.

Life is odd.

That is my deep epiphany of the day.

Finally my eyes are wide open and yet I feel nothing. 

Nothing but cold hands and a somewhat existential feeling of detachment.

I have come to realize that I am not the enemy.

Nor am I a traitor.

What I am and have been is true. 

True to myself.

True to my heart.

True to affection and deep emotion.

All of these things make me:

Whole.

Desirable.

Compassionate.

Enough.

Forgiving.

And, most of all, loving.

 I have floated on a self-made river of liquid salt.   

But now I gaze upon its beauty from a vantage point upon the shore.

I am found.

2 thoughts on “Seeing the light …

Leave a Reply

