Through the looking glass …

Have you ever looked at yourself in the mirror.

Really looked?

I did this evening and an odd thing occurred:

I didn’t really recognize the individual peering back.

There before me was a woman.

Pretty

with soft unlined skin

and blue inquisitive eyes.

But there was something else,

a feeling of familiarity mingled with the unknown.

It was as if I could see the past – present and future all at once.

There was a beautiful strength emanating from this reflection

and it penetrated the cold glass.

I waited – wanting to hear her voice.

Hoping that privy bits of worldly advice and knowledge

would spill from the painted lips.

But there was none.

As I turned to walk away, I heard

bold words of encouragement,

beauty and love.

For myself.

From myself.

Smiling,

I switched off the light

knowing …

Leave a Reply

