Appearances can be deceiving …

A few weeks ago while frittering  my time away on Twitter

I found the feed of a lovely British ballerina.

I read through her tweets, looked at her photos (and those of her boyfriend)

and

found myself somewhat intrigued.

She is young, wonderfully talented and lovely.

Her boyfriend the same.

I wondered about them.

Enough in fact that I placed them both in my favorites feed.

Through photos and words, I decided that they were madly in love gad about’s, happily twirling their way through life.

She dancing and he writing.

However, while unwinding this evening

I took a moment to look at their Twitter feeds.

And, to my surprise, it seems that the young man took his own life on February 14th.

Two last posts highlighted his emotional vulnerability.

One speaks of how sad he has been and he pleads for forgiveness from those he loves for not seeking their help.

He then apologizes and says “I love you all”.

The last post is this –

“I wish every single one of you a long and happy life.  I love you.”

With that, a screen shot of a text message on a phone.

A quote from Winnie the Pooh:

“There is something you must always remember.

You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem,

and smarter than you think.

But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart, I will always be with you.”

I am left with a couple of thoughts:

Firstly

Appearances may deceive.

Outward smiles and vivacious words

do not a happy life make.

Secondly

Be gentle with those you meet.  One never knows what sadness lies below and your kindness may save them.

Remember …

Life is difficult

and

souls are tender.

My prayer, is that this young mans soul

will finally know peace …

4 thoughts on “Appearances can be deceiving …

Leave a Reply

